All to the Sword

Coming Soon:


All to the Sword

Book 5 in the Dorset Chronicles


Release Date: Tuesday 25thMay


A letter comes for Henry, Earl of Sherborne. It contains an invitation. Grace, the countess, takes it upon herself to extend that invitation to her wider family. The party take ship from Southampton in the summer of 1691, bound for the beautiful coastal strip of North East Scotland.


Little did they know that it would be eight months before they returned to their homes in Dorset.


And in that time that they would witness one of the most shameful massacres seen in Britain. Shameful, not only for the murder of their hosts, or the way women and children had to flee out into the snowbound mountains that frown upon the glens below. But doubly so, for the government stood squarely but secretly behind the murders.


“You are hereby ordered to fall upon the rebels, the MacDonalds of Glencoe, and put all to the sword under seventy. You are to have special care that the old fox and his sons do upon no account escape your hands. You are to secure all the avenues that no man escape.”


Some MacDonalds did escape and lived to tell a tale of wickedness and hate. But equally, some of the Davenport Clan from Dorset found themselves in the deepest of danger, fleeing for their lives, condemned by the authorities as murderers themselves.


Will they escape or will they be massacred like the MacDonalds?


And who will bring to light the government’s heinous crimes, thus forcing a reckoning?


Book cover to follow soon



Pipeline – What’s Coming and When

It’s been a little quiet in recent months but all that’s about to change. In between various business activities I’ve been writing and writing and writing some more. Now I’m getting ready for a spate of releases in 2021. Here they are:

  1. Every Male Under Seventy – Dorset Chronicles 5th in the series sees the expanded Davenport family make a visit to Scotland in 1691-2, just in time to get involved in the infamous Glen Coe Massacre where MacDonald after MacDonald were slaughtered by government troops. As well as a ripping good story, Every Male Under Seventy goes into some of the background of the savage killings led by the Campbells but authorised far higher up the chain. And, you’ll be pleased to know, the arch-baddie, Parchman, is working behind the scenes to wreak his own type of misery.

Every Male Under Seventy will be released in May 2021.

2. The Battle of Brittany – like many of my stand alone books, this deals with two time periods. A cashiered Royal Navy commander finds himself in small town Brittany in the mid-eighties, shortly after the Falklands War saw his first command go down. He doesn’t know why he’s there, other than his dying father sent him. But what he unearths is a series of dark secrets from long ago, when the Germans moved in and brought grave dilemma to the Breton nationalists. It’s thriller, romance and history all rolled into one great big ride of adventure.

The Battle of Brittany is planned for September 2021.

3. Life – a new type of book for me, Life is a crime novel with a difference. It’s also written in the first person and that first person happens to be a young woman making her way in the world. After university, Sam Hornbeam takes the only job offered to her, in a prison. There she uncovers evidence of grave injustice that leads her and others to dig and dig, revealing an incredible story of hope, suffering and redemption. Sam will be coming back for this book looks very much like the start of a series.

Life will be released later this year.

And, lastly, I have not forgotten The Semblance of Order trilogy. The Stuff of Heroes was released a couple of years ago. The second book, The Agent Within, is well under way and will be ready for publication later this year.




Pin It on Pinterest